.30 caliber for squirrels? Why and why not?

I am still studying air guns. Have been since September '19.

Still trying to decide on my first airgun purchase. I am thinking why not a .30 caliber pcp for squirrels which is my main pest right now, although there are possum, raccoon, coyote I am certain to have problems with eventually. I just moved to northeast Al. on the cumberland mountain. 

If you're hunting squirrels for food / fur, you might wind up with less yield with a .30 over something smaller. I would personally use nothing larger than 22 cal, but for pesting no problem.

Now I would also make the argument that if you are indeed planning to hunt larger critters, you would want a .30. I'm not saying there's any harm in having a squirrel rig and another for larger game, but if you can hit squirrels with a .30 - the larger game are going to be easy prey. Keep in mind that you can adjust the power on the fly with many different platforms.

I used to hunt deer with a .30 caliber powder burner when I was a teenager. I wouldn't want to take a squirrel with that. Even though that gun is still in our immediate family I wouldn't want to use it on a squirrel. But I am thinking would be ok using a .30 caliber air rifle for squirrels and on up to small deer. I have watched a few videos of .30 air rifles being used for squirrels. I was always a pretty good shot and would be thirty or forty yds. away, tops, from the squirrels. I would probably be further away from a small deer, or coyote. I need to look at the most humane way to go if I take me a spike deer to eat. The power adjustment options I have been studying on the rigs these days seems the way to go since, yes, I have been studying how to skin me a squirrel and make dumplings. 😋