.30 Cal Loudness

Eli

Apr 26, 2015
Ohio
I'm fairly new to PCP's and unfortunately I'm in an area where you can't get your hands on a lot of them to test. I bought a Daystate Wolverine B Hi-Lite .22 and really like it. I love the accuracy and how quiet it is.

That brings me to my question... How much louder are the .30 cal guns compared to something like the Wolverine that I have (specifically the FX Boss)? I realize it will be louder, obviously, but is it really that noticeable? I have no idea. And I understand "loudness" is subjective, but I'm hoping someone can give me some insight. 

I need a "backyard friendly" air rifle and if I can get away with a .30 cal... why not? A .30 cal will take down all I can now with my .22 plus more.

Thanks for your help.

Can you get away with it. In my state .30 cal and up, fall under some powder burner laws with regards to where they are discharged. So even if my .30 was mouse fart quiet, i would never drop the hammer on it, in my back yard. That's easy for me to say and do, because my street dead ends into the mohave desert five houses down, so just be careful know what your getting into.

"Eli"I'm fairly new to PCP's and unfortunately I'm in an area where you can't get your hands on a lot of them to test. I bought a Daystate Wolverine B Hi-Lite .22 and really like it. I love the accuracy and how quiet it is.

That brings me to my question... How much louder are the .30 cal guns compared to something like the Wolverine that I have (specifically the FX Boss)? I realize it will be louder, obviously, but is it really that noticeable? I have no idea. And I understand "loudness" is subjective, but I'm hoping someone can give me some insight. 

I need a "backyard friendly" air rifle and if I can get away with a .30 cal... why not? A .30 cal will take down all I can now with my .22 plus more.

Thanks for your help.