2 questions?

On question #1 I use a moderator to keep backyard shooting noise to a minimum which keeps nervous neighbors happy. At the range less noise makes shooting mor enjoyable and for hunting less noise to scare off game.

on question #2 I’ve never done shims so I just don’t know I think that there is a scope ring that has a windage adjustment from sports match.

1. Yes, for pneumatics it reduces the report. For springers, not as much.

2. You have to shim the stationary side of the clamp. If it’s hitting left and the stationary side of the clamp is on the left, you should shim the front ring. If the stationary side is on the right, shim the rear ring.

I can only speak for my particular gun in this regard because I have no experience with others & not many offer a threaded barrel, but a moderator definitely makes a difference on my Walther LGV. Not on the same level of my pcp, but worth it in every way. 

Actually a 1pc mount is preferable because it avoids applying torque along the scope’s axis when you install a shim for windage. Cut your shim about 1/2” - 3/4” long and apply it at either the front or back based on my earlier explanation.

The shim will affect how well the mount holds to the dovetail so make sure the surfaces are clean (oil free) and torque the fasteners per the mfg recommendation.

Question 1: In NY state, even if I apply and pay for an Alphabet org tax-stamp, 
it is still 'illegal' for me/us to own/use suppressors on our powder-burners..
That really p**ses me/us off!
So... I use suppressors on my high powered PCP air rifles to thumb my nose at NY. 😃

On a more serious note.. I do a LOT of indoor shooting..
The noise levels from the guns are loud to begin with, and being indoors only 'amplifies' that, 
as well as the echos from shooting in a confined space..

Using a suppressor completely eliminates all of that..

I suppress all of my PCP air rifles now for that reason, and love it..