177 or 22 ?

So I'm a noob and want to get my first air gun/pellet rifle. I think I'm going to get the Gamo Swarm Maxxim but was unsure if I should get the 177 or 22. I realize the 177 is a little faster. My main use is bird nuisance, sparrows, starlings etc and then just some target shooting. I have BB guns but need something more accurate.

Thanks for the help

If your main objective is bird pesting go with the .177. flatter shooting and pellets are cheaper. A nice shooting .177 zeroed at 35 yds one mildot should cover you out to 50 yds. The main thing is get in the game. Don't sweat the .177 .22 debate. Soon you will have a closet full. Don't know many Airgunwerks with only one gun. Happy shooting.

I have lots of guns already to shoot, just need a good sparrow gun that won't carry a mile if I miss. For some reason the 22 on Amazon seems to be a little cheaper, but not by much. I live on 10 acres so I can shoot when ever I want but my thoughts were the pellet gun would be more efficient and safer. I don't want to be shooting the 22 or 9 mm up into the trees. Guess I could use the 12 gauge. ?

Please do yourself a favor. If it's small birds out to 50 yards, save for a HW, Diana/RWS, any used tuned rifle from a good guy here.

I started with a Gamo after my initial Crosman days. Twanged & shook every scope loose or broke. My RWS 48 John in PA tuned rifle puts hole in hole rested on porch rail w/ CPHP's and great with JSB domes out to 100 if no wind or you can read it.

Please do yourself a favor. If it's small birds out to 50 yards, save for a HW, Diana/RWS, any used tuned rifle from a good guy here.

I started with a Gamo after my initial Crosman days. Twanged & shook every scope loose or broke. My RWS 48 John in PA tuned rifle puts hole in hole rested on porch rail w/ CPHP's and great with JSB domes out to 100 if no wind or you can read it.

good advice right there!