Winter storage of PCP airguns?

Just curious, this is my first year of owning PCP airguns. They are a lot of fun and I wish I hadn't wasted so much money on my other bb/pellet guns but for me that was part of the learning curve. As a newbie to the PCP world I'd like to know about cold weather storage and maintenance, do I need to store my guns with a full or partial fill of the air tank? What about lubrication, other than cleaning and lubing the barrel and exposed metal parts what else should be lubed? My low budget/entry level collection includes the .177 Stormrider, .22 Stormrider, .177 Beeman UL and a .22 Kral Arms Puncher Breaker Silent Marine (terrible name btw). Do your suggestions also apply to my co2, pump and pneumatic airguns too?

I store my PCPs with full air tanks. Your steel and blued parts can be wiped down with a light oil or some folks prefer paste wax. Hornady One-Shot is an excellent rust inhibitor too but a little pricey. If over oiled it can attract dust while wax is a dry coating that doesn't attract dust. Dust can absorb moisture and lead to surface rusting. I guess the product you choose really depends on the humidity and propensity for steel to rust in your particular location.

Last edited:
Reactions: iAMzehTOASTY1
Just curious, this is my first year of owning PCP airguns. They are a lot of fun and I wish I hadn't wasted so much money on my other bb/pellet guns but for me that was part of the learning curve. As a newbie to the PCP world I'd like to know about cold weather storage and maintenance, do I need to store my guns with a full or partial fill of the air tank? What about lubrication, other than cleaning and lubing the barrel and exposed metal parts what else should be lubed? My low budget/entry level collection includes the .177 Stormrider, .22 Stormrider, .177 Beeman UL and a .22 Kral Arms Puncher Breaker Silent Marine (terrible name btw). Do your suggestions also apply to my co2, pump and pneumatic airguns too?