• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Which pellet weight?

Hey all. I'm fairly new to air gunning and wanted to see what the popular opinion is on finding one pellet / weight to run. I have a .25 fx maverick sniper on the way and want to purchase pellets ahead of time. From what I gathered during my research is that this gun likes FX/JSB 25.39 and 34 grain pellets. My question is which of the two should I stock up on if I were going to tune it once for that weight? I will mostly be shooting paper at 50 - 100 yards but may take the occasional pest shot when the opportunity arises. My instinct tells me to go with the 34 grain pellets but I would like to hear everyone's thoughts that are familiar with these pellets / weights doing similar shooting. Thanks!

For target shooting they use the lighter ones and try to optimize the tune for accuracy. This gives the most shots per tank fill. For medium to large Critters I choose the 34 grain at around 900 ft per second so they still may have good terminal performance even if you have a bad shot. Giving up some accuracy for terminal performance.

Reactions: Sireal
I have no idea what a Maverick Sniper likes but I see Utah Air sells it as suitable for heavier pellets and slugs. Also I saw it has a 700 mm barrel. That should help getting heavier pellets or slugs up to speed. The Heavy would be the 34 grain. You might try a tin of the original and the MKII to start. But it may be useful to also remember that air arms and FX pellets are made by JSB and may shoot a little better or worse. So even if you limit yourself to 34 grain there are several varieties to test. And that is just JSBs. You could also test something like a Baracuda Match which is a little lighter but still a fairly heavy pellet.