• *Effective 3/27/2024 - The discussion of the creation, fabrication, or modification of airgun moderators is prohibited. The discussion of any "adapters" used to convert an airgun moderator to a firearm silencer will result in immediate termination of the account.*

When clipping isn't an issue.......

So here's the deal. I shoot a Compact Taipan Vet in .25. It shoots great without an aftermarket moderator. If I do my part, dime sized groups @50 yds.
But when ever I spin on a moderator, it significantly adds to my flyers, regardless of the company. I've tried several name brand moderators. I go one size up in moderator size, so I know its not clipping. And I can visually see that I don't have a clipping issue.

I'm no airflow expert, but it seems to me that the back pressure by adding moderator is disturbing the flight of my pellets, causing the flyers.

The gun is a little hard on my ears if I don't use an external moderator, and using ear plugs/muffs is kind of a PITA. I haven't experimented with any air strippers yet.

But I guess I'd like to know if there are any manufacturers that incorporate an airstripper in their moderator design. Or if there are any guys here that design this type of devise.

Thanks for looking.

I'd put my money on harmonics. But odd for such a short barrel. I have the same issue, but on a freefloated 700mm barrel on a fx crown. Normally this is seen on looong barrels.

One case of what you're suspecting... or at least a comparative example... My .25 pp800 probably has some of the tightest baffles out of anyone's gun on here. At least one is 7mm bore intended for .22 cal. Some others are 7.5mm. Huma mod 40 so, the baffles can be changed. Gun produces 50fpe in a 9" barrel, and I know for a fact it is wasting a TON of air. And it'll still shoot super tight groups at 35 yards.

314202776_1511524812652444_6941206783415321586_n_edited.jpg