What is the purpose of lighter pellets?

Hi,
I’ve only used cheap Crosman pointed lead pellets. Im fairly new to airguns. And I recently saw a product called H&N Baracuda Green. It is .177 and 6.48 Grains.

It is a light weight, lead free ammo. I understand that this would be used when you don’t want lead in applications where environmental hazards are concerned, such as animals eating them.

But other than animal consumption or other environmental hazard is concerned, is there any benefit to using these light alloy pellets? In plainking, pesting, target shooting or whatever use.

This is more out of curiosity, but I mainly just do 10 yard pesting.

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Green Lead-Free Domed Airgun Pellets .177-Caliber / 6.48 Grains https://a.co/d/5uu2FVt

…Im fairly new to airguns. And I recently saw a product called H&N Baracuda Green. It is .177 and 6.48 Grain

It is a light weight, lead free ammo. I understand that this would be used when you don’t want lead in applications where environmental hazards are concerned, such as animals eating them.

But other than animal consumption or other environmental hazard is concerned, is there any benefit to using these light alloy pellets?
In plainking, pesting, target shooting or whatever use…
Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Green Lead-Free Domed Airgun Pellets .177-Caliber / 6.48 Grains https://a.co/d/5uu2FVt

@Puppadore I’m unsure, but I’m under the impression that some places have banned the use of lead ammo. I haven’t read of any accounts of pellets made of non-lead alloys outperforming lead pellets. My guess is that they are an alternative for folks abiding by the laws and regulations in places where lead projectiles are not permitted.

If your ten yard pesting is indoors or around buildings I would avoid alloy due to ricochet. They are also more likely to pass through tin from what I hear not to mention pests.