• Please consider adding your "Event" to the Calendar located on our Home page!

TTTT, Thomas Tuner Testing Today

This is the first opportunity I’ve had to shoot my new HPX since last fall so it was great to be outside again shooting for the first time in 2024. I had this tuner left over from another project so I thought I’d see what kind of results I’d have using it on my HPX. I’ve got a LOT more testing to do but it shows some initially good results. Its really hard to improve on an already awesome rifle but it’s fun to do some testing.

IMG_8402.jpeg

On bull 24 I decided to try a meager attempt at what Mike does, shooting a 25 shot group, but my skills pale in comparison to his. All shooting was with unsorted, straight from the tin MRDs at 50Y outdoors.

The red numbers are tuner settings.

I started shooting in the bottom left corner, shooting left to right on each row then transitioning to the next row above. Its interesting (to me) to see where each group shifted to as the tuner settings (red numbers) were changed. Not only group sizes changed but also where the group found its home. This really displays where the barrel was whipping to when the pellet left the barrel. I was holding on the center X dot for each group. There was some wind but I [usually] waited until both flags were in the same condition that I was waiting on before breaking the shot.

I had time to get one card in yesterday. I guess one of the (amazing to me) stand out things about Mike's guns is how well he is able to control vertical spread. If you look at my card below you will see that every shot was easily a 10 but my misses were all off horizontally and that was 100% on me for bad wind calls. This is the most dependable rifle that I have ever shot in that I can trust the rifle 100% therefore eliminating the arrow and ALL the rest is on the Indian.

img_8433-jpeg.451453