Total newb, what should I know?

Hello! I've just ordered my first air rifle, a surplus Daisy Avanti 853 from the Civilian Marksmanship Program. It's a .177 single-pump pneumatic made for target shooting, with a low max FPS (specs list it at 495). I want to shoot targets in my yard at 10 meters and also in the woods at longer distances. Not thinking of competing, but I will take it seriously, and will be keeping track of my groups over time. I've got experience with firearms, and I like to think I'm a decent shot, but this will be a new journey for me. I've got some specific questions and I'm also interested in hearing general advice for a beginning shooter.

First, I understand I'll have to shoot lots of different pellets to find what works best . . . but where do I even start? I've narrowed it down to wadcutters, but wouldn't heavier pellets (domes?) work better for longer distances. I'm thinking out to 50 meters (and beyond? is that a thing?). 

Second, what do I need to do to maintain this gun? Can I just follow the manual, or are there other customs I should know? Are cleaning pellets any good, or do I need a rod/patch system? 

Third, should I put a scope on this rifle? It comes with diopter sights, which I'm excited about trying, but I like the instant feedback of seeing projectiles hit paper.

Finally, general advice? What do you wish you had known when you started out? 

Thanks so much!

If you are total new I’d just buy some pellets at Walmart and see how they do. That gun is really best suited to indoor use at 10 meters Putting a scope on it may be challenging . I’d shoot in as is and not be concerned about cleaning it .

At 500 FTS it’s not likely going to shoot to 50 meters or be of much value for hunting beyond short distances.

I think of it as a starting point and good for what it’s designed for 10 meter paper punching.