Tis The Season of Fungus !

I have been hunting wild mushrooms in Northern California for close to 40 years now. Been
getting fairly good rain in the last 30 days so I set out for my favorite fare ! Chanterelles !!
Got 3 lbs today and I plan on sirloin steak with a merlot wine reduction for dinner ! Any of
you fellow countrymen forge the forests for fungus ?

20221208_152100.jpg

20221208_151730.jpg

20221208_151741.jpg

Yes,they are great in soups,have also eaten those big ones that grow on trees,I made sure someone eat them first though.
Almost every other year someone eats the poisonous ones and almost dies.
There are classes you can take to learn the good ones and the bad ones.
Chantrelles and Razor clams are two tastes that are very hard to beat in soups.
I am close to Napa and Marin. Great place to live.

Yes,they are great in soups,have also eaten those big ones that grow on trees,I made sure someone eat them first though.
Almost every other year someone eats the poisonous ones and almost dies.
There are classes you can take to learn the good ones and the bad ones.
Chantrelles and Razor clams are two tastes that are very hard to beat in soups.
I am close to Napa and Marin. Great place to live.
I'm in Sonoma and there is a couple type that grow on trees. The rare one is the Lions Mane. Actually
has a crab like flavor.

Screenshot_20221208_185855_Chrome.jpg

Very similar to the Bear's Head tooth fungus.
iu

iu

iu

I read that both are supposed to taste like Lobster. Yeah... right... LOL!

I tried the BHT sautéed in butter and it was NOTHING like lobster. Not bad, but definitely a fungus.

Oh well... to each their own and if I find more BHT in my area I will harvest it and use it. Times are hard.

p.s.

Before I found out the actual name (still don't fully understand that name) I was calling it "Santa's Beard". (grin)

p.s.p.s

Here is an article that claims to denote the differences between Lion's Mane and Bear's Head tooth mushrooms.