• Please consider adding your "Event" to the Calendar located on our Home page!

Tips for shooting a bullpup off a bipod/rest?

I am a ~young shooter and recently got my first PCP airgun (Taipan Vet Long .22). My current goal is to tune the gun for max precision but the more I shoot the more I notice that the most minute differences in the way I hold the gun, configure my head, allow the gun to recoil, etc. affect the POI significantly at 50 yards (3/4"-1"). This concept is not new to me, as I own and shoot various powder burners as well and am aware of the importance of consistent trigger squeeze/follow thru and rifle harmonics. However I have not noticed this level of hold sensitivity in my PB rifles. My thought is maybe some of this is due to the fact that the Taipan is a bullpup which may require techniques closer to shooting handguns which I have limited experience with.

Anyway, in an effort to reduce my influence as the shooter to more accurately observe what the rifle is capable of, I am hoping some of you could share tips for how you shoot bullpup PCPs off a rest. Note that I am shooting prone off a bipod and rear bag.

TLDR; Here are my questions:

• How hold sensitive are bullpup PCPs off a rest? 
  • Is it better to let the gun recoil naturally (like a springer) or do you apply downward/forward pressure to the gun when shooting?
  • What are some tips that can help a noob like me when shooting bullpups, or PCPs in general off of a bipod/rest to maximize precision?

I think the critical thing is being consistent and being very careful with follow through. I’ve never been able to shot prone or off a bipod .
I use a shooting table a front rest/rear bag and stool.
You are going to just have to experiment as to what works for you.
At least you have recognized a significant factor in shooting these rifles. Bull pups are harder to shoot then a standard rifle. I own an impact and I like it but it will be the last bull pup for me.