• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Things to Do Before Shooting my Seneca Aspen

Hello,

I'm brand new here and mostly new to air rifles, as I have owned only a Daisy 880; she's pretty much outlived her usefulness. But I am expecting a Seneca Aspen (.22) to be in my hands soon.

I intentionally purchased a refurbished Aspen, for two reasons: one, because I figured the vendor would give it a good once-over and do some modest (but necessary) repairs and, perhaps, a minor upgrade or two before re-selling it; second, the lower price. Also purchased at the same time was a second rotary magazine and some JSB Diablo 18.13g domed pellets. Of course the Aspen came with a scope (which some say is "fair").

In any event, since I am new to the Aspen and I have time before she gets here, I am wondering what suggestions you veterans have for things I should look for and do to the Aspen before anything else, as well as recommendations for ammo, maintenance, care and shooting tips, etc.

The intended use of the Aspen is to diminish the small prey population, the shots of which should be within 50 yards, with 99% of the shots being from a somewhat unstable position (standing (most likely) and kneeling).

Thanks very much in advance for your assistance.

On page 5 of the manual it will show you where to lube the pump. Make sure you keep in lubed well or the pump will have to be disassembled to replace the little 006 oring in the 3rd stage of the pump. I generally shoot one round and pump 4-5 times and then shoot it again. Much, much easier on the pump. Page 7 tells you how often to lube the pump.

DesertSilver,

Thanks for pointing that all out. I've not yet gotten to the manual; hopefully later today.