The Pest Population

Squirrels, rats, starlings, pigeons, chipmunks, iguanas, etc.

Anyone ever wonder just how overrun the world would be if air-gunners didn't exist?

Would there be a plague? Would everything be just fine?

What do you think?

Yes they are a problem at times. I am a retired wildlife biologist and have certainly seen my share of issues, especially with the many species of invasive non-indigenous species (plants, birds, fish, reptiles,amphibians, and on and on) worldwide. Most were brought in as pets of which there is a laundry list or to help control a problem and subsequently became the problem. Won't we ever learn? Each and every year there are new invasive species causing havoc to local ecosystems. Just during my lifetime the list has grown exponentially. In addition, to just mention a few,I have seen the feral hog, coyote, armadillo, & fire ant problem proliferate in the southeast part of Alabama. Yes there are many other issues to consider but the aforementioned pests are certainly a major part of the equation and air-gunners as well as other hunters are part of the solution.

Me, I think the world is slowly being over run with these pests and many more. There are not nearly enough airgunners to even put a dent in the populations. We are not coming close to keeping up with the Starlings, English Sparrows, Pigeons, Rats and Iguanas in the US. for sure. Around my area in Oregon the invasive squirrel population is still exploding cuz so many people feed them. The indigenous species is not so slowly retreating into the less populated areas and disappearing. The rat population is increasing at an alarming rate, they are everywhere I look these days, cuz people are feeding the squirrels and birds and thus the rats. 

The Coyotes are coming into the city and eating all the cats as well. Then as stated above there are the wild pigs and armadillos in other parts of the country.