Testing different ELR slugs at 200 yards for potential 700+ targets

I am a self taught "long range shooter" The longest range available to me is only 300 yards. I plan to extend my long range shooting to 700+ yards by driving 4 hours in each direction from my home to a new range.

I have shot over 1750 rounds at 200 yards with an average of a "shooters MOA". I'm know at my club range to split playing cards at 200 yards without any difficulty. I typically zero at 50 yards and go straight to 200 yards. I have no interest in shooting less than 200 yards.

I narrowed down the best 2 slugs for 200 yards at a specific tune. Now, I want to to try 6 different slugs for over 300 yards.
I would typically test new slugs at 200 yards. However I question myself if I should be testing and shooting groups at a closer distance?

If I test these 6 new slugs by shooting groups at 50/100 yards, is it reasonable to think the accuracy would translate the same at longer distances? Would an experienced ELR shooter use the same slug that shot great groups a 50/100 yards, for 500+ yards targets? Or use a specific slug for extreme long range, knowing the same round would not group well at shorter distances?

If you can keep your comments and suggestions "on topic" I would like to learn from your experiences.

Rod in San Francisco

My experience is that if it does terrible up close its outs, but test at long range also. Some slugs seem to have a "fall off". Theyre good and then suddenly theyre not. Not sure why it is, seems to be the case for me. But normally a good 100 yard group will translate.
Thank you for chiming in.

I think for testing don't go shorter then 100. At 50 you cannot read the flaws. At least this what I figure for myself when re-tuning and de-tuning...not a recent experience, my shooting season didn't started yet still the winter won't go away, but that is the exercise I will be doing a first week anyway.
Thanks for chiming in.