Stretching design range limits.

I am just getting into longer range for my rifles, but I've been shooting my pistols at their max range and having lots of fun with them for some time. Although I like to compare the experience with long range rifle shooting, its not exactly the same. I'm not using math or anything like that to get on target, just stretching them to the edge. In other words, shooting 10 meter/33 foot rated, pistols, with 400 fps or so, at 84 feet at the moment. I call it their max usable distance, because they're all out of elevation on their sights, scopes, red dots, or blades, all maxed. Its like throwing mud balls, but with accuracy.
To make a comparison to rifles or powder burners I use relative size and range, so I guess I use a little math. For example, my best shoot on film was shooting 1/4 inch targets at 25 yards. That is basicly relative to shooting a 1 inch ball at 100 yards, 1MOA.
I would say wind drift would also be comparable, as I've had crosswinds displace me 3.25 inches at 75 feet. Anyway, stretching whatever your shooting out, is challenging and fun.
Screenshot_20230425_201344_Gallery.jpg

I’ve got a P17 with a Vortex crossfire on it, been lobbing Crosman premier pointed pellets at a 9 inch fry pan out at 60 yds with moderate success. The red dot was able to adjust for that elevation. It also seems to like some Winchester round nose pellets for same use. Just a “sitting on back porch what the hell”, try it thing….

I’ve got a P17 with a Vortex crossfire on it, been lobbing Crosman premier pointed pellets at a 9 inch fry pan out at 60 yds with moderate success. The red dot was able to adjust for that elevation. It also seems to like some Winchester round nose pellets for same use. Just a “sitting on back porch what the hell”, try it thing….
Wow that Vortex has some good elevation. Mine are at near the stops at 25 to 30 yards.

Reactions: iAMzehTOASTY1
I haven't shot any slugs yet.