• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

N/A Someone talk me down...

Ok, technically I'm relatively new to airguns, not counting my Daisy 717 from decades past that still works fine. But I've been on this forum for 2.5 years, wow it's been that long.....anyway, I've got a Sapsan .22 and a couple of Mavericks one of which is a project gun. The VP is a .25 so that base is covered, my project Mac is a .25 sniper, abused by a previous owner, now a .22 Compact and working great. I'm thinking of getting a .17, need one of each flavor right? I honestly don't want to spend another 2 grand on a gun basically because I've got a wee bit of Scottish blood in me and I'm cheap. So, I'm open to suggestions. I'm very familiar with the Mavericks as some know so it would be an easy acquisition, I'd probity get a VP, I like the barrel length and I think it's be suited to a .17. But, I'm not adverse to trying something else, preferable lighter. So...have at it guy/gals.

Oh I should have said, I think for this one I'd like a nice wood stock. I've got plenty of metal guns, my old favorite is a .22 Remington Target my uncle gave me as a lad and my Mrs. Marlin that I refinished the stock on.

Last edited:
I've fooled around with a couple of FX rifles in .177 cal. While my 22s, 25s and 30s work great, the .177 cal was so so as far as accuracy was concerned. Being a competition shooter in a lot of .177 areas, I feel there are better choices. In the lower priced area, the Daystate Revere in either regulated or non-regulated is great as well as some various Air Arms rifles like the AA 510 or HFT 500. The top tier rifles would include the RAW TM or HM 1000 or Daystate Wolverines or Red Wolfs. I'm sure others will have their suggestions too.