• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

So many questions about tanks....

Greetings, I apologize if a similar thread exists but I didn't find any when I searched.

I am new to air rifles, but have a moderate amount of experience with firearms. My father and I have collected and shot firearms for many many years. Recently we learned about air rifles and purchased a Texan SS (.45) and a Benjamin Armada (.25). We're planning on ordering the Umarex Hammer whenever it becomes available.

It was apparent from the beginning that we were going to need air tanks to facilitate all of the shooting we like to do, so we got a compressor from Airgun Depot and a 3000 psi scuba tank from a local dive shop. Since this tank is 3000 psi (good enough for the Texan and the Armada) and the Hammer has a 4500 psi tank, we have been looking for a 4500 psi tank. I've looked around and it seems like the larger ones from AD and other online vendors are about twice the price of what you can find elsewhere.

Does anyone have any insight or information on this? I have found an 86 cu ft 4500 psi tank for about $370 and a jubilee valve is typically $130-ish (if I'm remembering that correctly); so why would do they retail for $700 or more from the air gun retail sites? Is there something I'm missing?

This is a very addictive hobby and I've loved learning all that I have but I just can't seem to discover the answers I'm looking on this topic anywhere else.

Thanks in advance for any input or guidance.

Chris

Save your money and watch for a sale on an Omega or Air Venturi tank. A couple of times a year you can find them for +/- $550. Well worth the price and carbon fiber over the long term is the only way to go if you want to have any mobility at all. I have both and wish I had bought the 4500 lbs psi carbon fiber earlier and let the steel tank go by the wayside.