Regulating a Big Bore..

Looking for some experts to chime in on regulating a big bore that doesn't have a balanced valve. The newer AEA Challenger's with their big poppets valves and air tubes is where I am going with this. To get four to six fairly consistent shots would be ideal. The pressure on the regulator would need to be about 2500psi and max fill on them is 3600psi. What do you think, is it doable?

Please elaborate on your goal. Four to six consistent shots is most definitely doable, but what caliber and energy level?

The lack of a balanced valve isn't an issue because regulating it means the valve is easier to knock open. Granted if you plan to enlarge the throat, that will begin to offset the difference and perhaps at some point require some countermeasures to keep the cocking effort reasonable (heavier hammer, more stroke, or harder poppet).

im not an expert but agree its what your goal is .. if its to have a grossly inefficient and expensive to shoot albeit powerful and impressive big bore target gun, its dooable .. for shootng large game you dont need 1/4" accuracy and 50 shot capacity .. you just got to broad side it with a big piece of lead then hit it with a possible follow up shot and then maybe a finishing off shot lol ...

Reactions: BurntDog
I am also curious. The reason for wanting a reg is this gun's 6 shot magazine. My understanding is that the tube can actually hold 4500 or maybe ever 5000 psi, although I havent tried. If that's true, then regulating it to 2500 should provide a full mag at least right? Would be kinda like a big bore huben k1. Well, in the sense that it can fill to 5000 and be regulated. My huben' is regulated at like 2900 psi, so in theory it should be possible. Maybe not idk. I get that big bores use up way more air per shot.

Using the published energy figures as a starting point...