• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Recirculating cooling system design.

20230115_185440.jpg

This is my set up for eliminating the need for the 5 gallon bucket and consistent temperature control. It was fun to put together and 100% maintenence free. (So far)

It recirculates automotive coolant from a resevoir at the top through the pump to a Derale intercooler on to a second radiator through the air compressor head then on to the flow meter back to the reservoir where it repeats.

I also use a 4500psi reservoir tank rather than fill my gun from the compressor directly.

I've been running this for about 6 months now with no issues. So far, I'm pretty proud of it though it was quite costly to build.

Maybe even overkill.

PC watercooling components should be good enough as well.
I saw a guy take the head apart for rebuild and the hard water deposits in his head cooling manifold were awful. I mainly wanted to get rid of the 5 gallon bucket, but you are certainly correct. Water works just fine too. I had most of this stuff on the shelf anyway, so I put it to good use. The Derale intercooler is $300 bucks alone, but it was packed in a box for 3 years not being used...

Reactions: Seeker
I saw a guy take the head apart for rebuild and the hard water deposits in his head cooling manifold were awful. I mainly wanted to get rid of the 5 gallon bucket, but you are certainly correct. Water works just fine too. I had most of this stuff on the shelf anyway, so I put it to good use. The Derale intercooler is $300 bucks alone, but it was packed in a box for 3 years not being used...