• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Raw or Crown.. I'm not sure which to go for

Kind of stuck on what to get. I'm new to airguns. Lots of history with powder. Since I live in Canada, Bullpups are out and I can only get certain guns... not like our neighbours to the south (USA).

I'm looking for .25 calibre.
Some of the jobs for it will be:

Pest control - birds, raccoon, squirrel
Plinking, and perhaps get back into target shooting competitively. I'd rather not limit myself to picking a gun and not be able to do something later

So.. I'm not sure if Raw HM1000 or HM1000x. Both ship to Canada. I'm wondering if the 1000x is a bit much at 60 FPE for birds and plinking?
There is also the FX crown which will be coming in stock soon.

The closest dealer for airguns is :
https://www.airgunsource.ca/en/

Not sure of too many others in Canada

Thank you for helping.

From what I gather from the useful info here, there are a few things to consider.

First, if you are into powder, then the RAW will probably "FEEL" like home since it is very powerful, especially the X and somewhat heavy. The RAW may be on the overkill side for pesting almost anything but coyotes. It will also be louder than the Crown.

Second, I have a Crown. I do have a RAW ordered but it is weeks out. But, I still say there are very few guns as nice as the Crown is to shoot. It is backyard friendly and very accurate. I can stack pellets at 30 yards with it. I can make one ragged hole at 50 yards.

Cost wise - Crown. My Crown laminate is about $600 less than the RAW
Noise - Crown
Accuracy - Pretty close to a tie, but I haven't shot the RAW yet. But you can't get much better than actually stacking pellets.
Looks - Dang that RAW thumbhole laminate stock is beautiful