• Please consider adding your "Event" to the Calendar located on our Home page!

PRS Rimfire vs NRL22

Just some observations about the differences between NRL22 and PRS rimfire as it relates to air guns. I know we have some non-US people in this sub-forum, so know that this is very US-centric. Also, know that I am by no means an expert about anything, these are just things that I have observed and pondered on. There are smarter and/or more active competitors around here that hopefully can add their observations and opinions.

NRL22 is air rifle friendly. They have a dedicated Air Rifle division. The air rifle winner of each monthly match is eligible for the monthly prize drawing. Shooting in the air rifle division let's you accrue points towards a National Championship invitation.

From an equipment stand point, NRL22 is great for air rifles. They allow slugs up to .35 caliber and up to 85 grains. The standard props are suitable for most typical air rifles with a front tank, the main exception being the middle rungs on the pyramid and shooting through the back of the folding chair like the February COF.

And the 100 yard format for the monthly COF as well as the typical 10-12 round count per stage makes this shootable with a variety of air rifles. But for the NRL22 X matches, you would want to have some high BC slugs ready to go for 300+ yard stages.

PRS rimfire is not really air rifle friendly. While they do have an Air Gun division, they do not give any slots to the regional or national finales. (they also don't have slots for semi-auto division). The top 80 Open division shooters and the top 15 Production division shooters get slots to Regionals. The top 30 Open and top 3 Production get a slot to Nationals. So if you wanted to get a slot to Nationals in PRS, you would need to compete in Open division and win a bunch of matches.