• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Pistol or Bullpup?

I'm considering buying a new PCP pistol or bullpup in .25 or .30. Even though I have a few PCPs, I am no expert, so I figured I would ask those that have more knowledge than I do.

This is what I am thinking for my next PCP. I want to use it for night hunting, so I would prefer picatinny rail vs dovetail, but not a deal breaker, since I could just buy an adaptor. I would like to mount a PARD digital NV scope or thermal for night hunting. I would like a PCP that could take down a pig, so I'm thinking that I need to be looking at a .25 or .30. I have never owned a .30, so I'm unsure how loud they are...whatever I buy, I'll be putting on a moderator.

Here are my requirements:
1) My max budget would probably $1,000.00 just for the pistol or bullpup.
2) Able to mount PARD or thermal optic...picatinny.
3) Compact...OAL I'd like to keep it below 30".
4) Able to take down a pig.

I'm no PCP expert, so the pistol/bullpup would need to be GTG out of the box or simple that I can work on it...I have put many firearms together, but PCP's are not my strong suit.

From what I've read...AEA, SnowPeak P35 are some of the PCPs that might fit my needs.

Reactions: iAMzehTOASTY1
There are no air pistols with enough power for hunting pigs.
Add a minimum power to your list, as caliber is not an indicator of airgun power. For instance, the SnowPeak P35 you list, is on the lower end of the power spectrum, with 33fpe in .25cal while others are pushing upwards of 50fpe. For a piggy gun, I recommend going for a .30cal or .35cal maybe this Evanik Max-ML ||

There are no air pistols with enough power for hunting pigs.