pellets and slugs. Dazed and confused.

Folks. I am still new to this whole pcp thing. I have some newbie type questions.
1. I see where folks change barrels and stuff to shoot slugs. Is that necessary just to switch to slugs? Would I be ok shooting slugs in my new Huntsman Revere?

2. Hollow point pellets. I tried some H&N hollow points (crow magnums) today that were almost identical weight to the domed pellets I set up with. The difference was
astounding. They hit all over the place! AT 50 yards, they would hit first left, then right, then low, etc. A few shots at 100 yards and the pellets would not even travel the
entire distance. They fell short by 10 feet or more. The ballistic coefficient was that different. Is this normal? Can you do anything to shoot these pellets effectively?

Thanks gang.

Doc

First off, the Crow Magnum pellet is good to about 30 yds. Very devastating pellet at that yardage. My experience with them is that after that yardage, it’s a crap shoot. Try the H&N Baracuda Hunter. Much better hollow point pellet.

if you want to try slugs, start light and work your way up. Try different diameters to find what works best in your gun. It will be frustrating and may cost a little money to get there. Best of luck to you.

Hello Doc,
You are ok to try slugs in your rifle. You won't hurt anything. Other brands make specific slug barrels with attributes designed just for slugs but you can certainly try the slugs in your barrel and see how they do. I would probably select a medium to light weight slug for that Revere.

You have found what most of us have which is that air rifles really like domed pellets. Your Revere does seem to have a strong distaste for the Crow Magnums. I've never tried those pellets. I have always found great accuracy using the JSB domed pellets in all the calibers I shoot. If you are looking for a hollow point style pellet maybe try the JSB Hades. I have read great reviews but have never tried those either.
Kenny