Pellet weight/shape consistency

I just finished inspecting, weighing and separating 1/2 tin of JSB EXACT JUMBO HEAVY DIABOLO .22 cal 18.13gr (about 268 pellets)
My Palmscale 7.0 only weighs to the tenth of a grain.

85 weighed in at 17.9/18
90 weighed in at 18.1
70 weighed in at 18.2
21 weighed in at 18.3/18.4

I had to reshape the skirts on about 30 of them.

Are these decent numbers for, allegedly, premium pellets that command a premium price? Is there a pellet out there with better quality control?

Now for the record: I'm not a professional target/match shooter. I shoot paper in the backyard and pesky squirrels.

Ponz

seems about right these days. this is my post earlier
With all the tools available now for measurement of pellets, i wonder IF old pellets ? pellets that were produced lets say the 5th year in the pellet manufacturing time line of a company (JSB as example ) IF the pellets were of a more constant measurement ? Seems to me everybody is complaining now of size and weight of pellets in the same tin . Anyone have old unopened tins of Quality pellets ? Maybe 1990 ? 2001 ? is that old enough to qualify for what was a high Quality pellet ? or maybe too old in the industry where a pellet was a pellet . When in fact the pellets are the same ,but now we have access to measurement equipment ? or maybe i just drank too much coffee this morning ?

Reactions: Sqwirl57
It’s combination of both people having access to cheap jewelers scales and therefore noticing that the weights are off and probably the fact that manufacturers had to catch-up with demand and thus have been less vigilant in producing to spec. But in my opinion it’s a fair trade off in the short term. Which would you pick - no pellets or imperfect pellets at inflated prices? The choice sucks but one is worse than the other.

-Marty

Ponz,