P-rod got stronger as air pressure decreased, go figure.

Hi all, I was shooting my Crosman .22 cal 1322 pistol over my Caldwell Precision chrony, when I decided to shoot my Benjamin Marauder .22 pistol over it, too.

On my 1322, I was curious about fps vs number of pumps. The max number of pumps I gave it was 12. The pellets I was shooting weighed an average of 15.85 gr each. The highest velocity the 1322 gave me was 478.9 fps.

When I started shooting the p-rod, it had a full tank, so I was thinking that would be the highest velocity that I'd see. Man, was I wrong. I shot it 16 times (2 magazines worth of pellets) and every time, the fps went UP - like I said, I was not expecting that to happen. The fps didn't increase just once or twice, it went up with every single shoot. And by the 16th shot, fps had increased almost 100 fps!

Here's the numbers I got:

Screen Shot 2021-05-26 at 3.26.30 PM.1622057214.png

Are you surprised, too? How can pellet fps go up as the pressure in the tank is going down? I don't understand.

I wanted to keep on shooting to see how high it would go, but had to put things up to visit the doctor. Maybe I'll do that some other time.

This just shows that the air pressure in the tank is closing the valve slower as the pressure drops. (Edit for clarification... This is the other end of overfill valve lock. Too high of pressure closes the valve too fast. As the pressure drops, the valve stays open longer, allowing more air to push the pellet. The valve open longer means more push on the pellet, showing higher FPS output as the tank pressure reduces.)

Just like when you overload the tank, you get valve lock. If you put about 3200 psi in the tank, the hammer cannot open the valve to shoot, u til you bleed off enough air.

The hammer has to push the valve against the internal air pressure to release air. You have discovered the root of valves tuning. Weight, vs. stroke (dwell time).