• *Effective 3/27/2024 - The discussion of the creation, fabrication, or modification of airgun moderators is prohibited. The discussion of any "adapters" used to convert an airgun moderator to a firearm silencer will result in immediate termination of the account.*
  • The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Not all barrels can shoot slugs.

I would have to disagree with push through sizers not working. I have been using one for 8 years now with the .25 cal 33.95 JSB's mki. Have won several competitions and gain about 5fps over non sized pellets. Was shooting them at 185 yesterday with scary accuracy. I would never shoot a competition without running them through the sizer and it illuminates flyers.
Crown mkii 700mm

Push through sizers can work for PCPs, but would be ill advised for springers. It is also a matter of degree. If the sized pellet head diameter still engages the lands then so will the skirt. The skirt will just have to "blow open" fully on firing. To some degree that happens with probe loaded pellets, even when the barrel is sizing the skirt down on loading.

A pellet head is sized down so far that it rattles down the bore, it is likely going to shoot poorly. If the skirt is also that loose then it may not build enough back pressure for the skirt to "blow open" and engage the rifling properly.