Newbie wants to skip the normal 1st airgun starter gun

Hello compressed air enthusiasts,
I am new to the PCP world and wanting to dive in to precision rifle for target practice and plinking. Semi auto, 30 plus caliber, that will work well with slugs and pellets. I already have a Sig Sauer MCX Gen 2 with PCP conversion and a Ruger break barrel pellet gun. I have many powder charged guns, but here in California, it is difficult and expensive to aquire ammunition and I don't want to use up my supplies of conventional ammo for practice and plinking.
My question is, is the Western Airguns Sidewinder appropriate for a PCP newbie, or is there some sort of learning curve that I am unaware of and I should get a "Starter" rifle first? I'm not new to target shooting, just PCP guns.
Cost is not a problem, I just want to sell my unfired Colt Python St. PAUL POLICE 125th anniversary 357 magnum first. I have several unfired collectors items that I can't even enjoy without depreciating the value $1000 just to fire it for the first time. Google the above mentioned Python, it's too beautiful to use!
Any thoughts on my choice of first real PCP?
Timmiecat

thoughts, i wouldnt sell a nice piece lol ... but sure, no reason you cant just by a higher end gun to start with, like a daystate, fx, raw etc .. for the bench id get a full sized bottle gun .. as far as caliber, above .22 ammo isnt as available or cheap is the only thing .. and really, id be realistic, pellet guns are really sub-100y guns, like a .22lr, but they can be super accurate, better than most .22lr ... so yeah, id talk around and be sure to get one with a barrel that is designed to shoot slugs if thats what you want ..