New to airguns. Need recommendations.

Hey all!

After some time spent reading posts on the forums (I couldn't find a search function), I figured I would ask for some help.

Looking for a very, very, very quiet airgun for pesting (squirrels, starlings, occasional raccoon) in a suburban neighborhood. Targets are within 30yds.

Budget is $750ish but willing to go higher.

I did see this recommendation in a previous post: https://www.pyramydair.com/s/pre_packaged_deals/Benjamin_Marauder_PCP_Air_Pistol/4738

The "Ultimate" package looked appealing but I would need to find a moderator for it to make it quiet, correct?

I'm new to PCP airguns as well. I have an emglo compressor similar to this: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Emglo-Electric-Air-Compressor-DUAL-TANK-1-5-HP-125-PSI/164037731158?hash=item2631692356:g:HZIAAOSwvvJeI2Yt

Would that work? Do I need some special fittings or do I need a completely different compressor?

Located in NJ, Have FID. Have friend in PA. 😉

Thanks!

Compressor won’t work at all - you need 3k psi+ compressor for air rifles. If you want to handpump, save yourself some money and get a cheap $33 handpump from AliExpress. Mine works no problem and has the benefit of being ridiculously easy to disassemble and repair if something goes wrong. You will also need a filter - you can find those for $15-20 on AliExpress with free shipping too.

If you need something super quiet, I’d get a Marauder because from what I’ve heard they are super quiet. If not, you can always get a moderator. 

For $750 I would look at a used Daystate Huntsman maybe — doesn’t need to be regulated since the Harper system makes it pretty darn consistent (from what I’ve heard). If it comes with a hugger moderator it should be very quiet. If your willing to spend $1000, then I’d get that huntsman from AOA in a heart beat. 

Also get a .22, best balance of power to cost IMO.

If you want to be safe and spend $400 (AGN coupon on Crossmans website) , marauder is the best choice though.