• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

New to AGN Intro

Hey guys. I've been monitoring this site for a while but decided to go ahead and join up yesterday. I suppose I'm a little old fashioned, but I felt like I should introduce myself.

I'm a Marine veteran from Baton Rouge LA. I have one daughter and one wife. 😆 

Upon leaving the Marine Corps 5 years ago we moved back to Baton Rouge. Although I've shot airguns my whole life, I would say this is when my hobby took a turn for the serious. We moved into a neighborhood with a lake behind our house. The lake has a nutria rat problem. I like to think of myself as a problem solver.

I grew up with my Daisy pump .177, eventually upgrading to a Benjamin/Sheridan pump .20. Then once I moved back to Baton Rouge and started dealing with the rats I upgraded to a Benjamin Jim Shockey Steel Eagle (please don't laugh). I killed quite a few rats with that gun, but eventually got frustrated with the inability to group consistently. So, after wasting a couple of years with these primitive tools, I decided to take the plunge.

After much research, I ended up getting an FX Impact MK 2. I went with .25 cal and a 700mm barrel. I upgraded to the DonnyFL moderator, I also put on the K&L rail extender, and an Atlas bi-pod. For optics I chose an ATX X-Sight 4K Pro with IR illuminator which has served me very well for my mission. Coupled with the ABL 1000 range finder it has been excellent on the hunt.

Being a PCP guy at the moment and primarily a hunter, I will likely do the majority of my posting in those areas of the forum.