New Member from Utah

I'm just getting into this hobby. Been shooting/collecting firearms for many years, but decided to expand into airguns to make it a bit easier to get out and actually shoot.

I dont have the largest yard, but I'm really hoping it all works out good, as it would be really nice to be able to just go out back and plink away for a while sometimes. One of my neighbors is kinda a dick, so hopefully its quiet enough that he doesn't know. Has anyone had either a positive or negative experience with police concerning shooting? I know its not a firearm, so its not against the law to shoot in my yard, but when certain types of people see something that looks like one...

I started with a Hatsan Mod 65. Definitely not an expensive option, but I figure that it'll be fine to get my feet wet in to see if its something I want to keep doing. And the good news is I can always add more to the collection... Also maybe get into the PCP side as well.

Reactions: Davewayne75
Welcome to the forum, glad to have you here. Big reason for airgun popularity is target practice without having to go farther than the backyard. Sorry about neighbor, have woods on all but one side, six-foot privacy fence there. Discretion is your best friend, use solid, safe backstop where only noise is pellet striking wood. Metal plates, gongs, exploding targets, even plastic bottles draw too much attention. Big bore boomers are out and moderators on everything else. Check local laws just to be ahead of bad neighbor, but few will give an old-timer grief about shooting his "BB" gun safely in the backyard. WM