FX new gun won't accept air, what am I doing wrong? (fx wildcat)

I have just got my first air gun! :) It is a fx wildcat mk3 bottle compact.
I bought with it a small air tank.

Unfortunately I can not figure out how to fill the air gun :(
Since I'm new to the hobby, it may be something obvious I'm missing, or I may just be doing it wrong or missing a step somewhere...

Can anyone here be kind enough to double check my process and offer any advice? I would really appreciate it.

STEPS:

1. I got the tank (guppy from topgun airguns) filled at a local paintball shop, (unfortunately there are no airgun stores even within an hour drive of me).
They filled it to where the gauge says about 4000ish psi. Tho now it's down to 3500 after all my attempted troubleshooting.

2. When I get home I connect one end of the hose to the tank. I make sure the side bleed valve and the top open valve are both closed.

3. I take off the little dust cap on the fill opening of the gun. I slide the quick connect part from the other end of the hose over it, making sure it locks in place.

4. I slowly open the tank valve. Here the gauge on the tank jumps a bit (i'm assuming because it is filing the hose.)
HOWEVER, it stops after that small bit and does not rise any.
And also NOTHING happens on the gauge of the gun, the numbers don't move at all, even if waiting a full minute.
It just stays on the same number (stays at what it came with, maybe 240ish, I was trying to fill it to the 300 full line)

5. I close the tank top valve. I open the bleed valve on the side, and air comes out of it plus the gauge on the tank itself empties. Then I disconnect the hose from the gun.

6. Once the hose is disconnected from the gun, I opened the tank valve back up to see if air comes out of the hose by itself, and it does.

So it seems no air is getting into the gun?

I tried googling some stuff to see if I can find any suggestions,