• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Need advice for long range shooting/hunting

Hi guys I would like to know your suggestion as I am fairly new with PCP airguns.

I have FX Impact MKII with Power Plenum in 700 mm barrel and I also have 30 calibre barrel in 700 mm. It is topped with Nightforce NSX 5-22 power scope with Tactacam 5 and side shot mount etc etc

I want to shoot pigeons at 150 yards and over with my pellet gun

I know slugs would be a better choice to shoot at longer distances.

I would like to know should I stay with 30 calibre or 22 calibre and what kind of slugs should I be using?

Thanks 

my suggestion is dont maim animals by 'trying' to hit them at long distances .. its really sad .. and i have no problem with blowing fluffy animals away that are a nuisance around my place .. but just going for long shots with airguns .. no .. just no .. it has about zero to do with the gun if its any decent pcp, and its all velocity .. at typical 900-1000fps velocities a pellet falls literally 4-5 'feet' at 100 yards .. so tell me your not guessing lol .. sure if you know the distance but just pot shooting at animals at long distance .. ignorant .. personal opinion .. but yeah .. get a good gun .. a 2000$FX would be nice ... try to keep it real ..