• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Is the Ruger Airhawk a good air rifle for the money?

Hey there, I'm new to this fourm and I already own three air rifles, a crosman M4177, crosman powermaster 66, and a Swiss Arms Tac 1. I have 150$ and I wasn't able to order other air rifles from Amazon for some reason, so my only option for me is to get a Ruger Airhawk from Cabelas. Specifcally the Ruger Airhawk because its the only air rifle in my budget that's in stock at my cabelas that has fiber optic sights/ iron sights. So is the Ruger Airhawk a decent air rifle with good fiber optic sights?

I had an Air Hawke Elite with the thumbhole stock. I don't like to be negative but, I did not have a good experience with it. In fact, the only good thing I have to say about it is the stock was comfortable. I mounted a scope on it and it would always slide on the dovetail due to the recoil. So, I changed mounts but it didn't help. So, I cranked down on the hex nuts (I mean, I REALLY cranked down on them!), didn't help. So, I used the scope mounting anchor bolt and really cranked down on the hex bolts. It SHEARED the anchor bolt! The mounts just would not stop sliding down the dovetail. After a while shooting it, I knew that whatever I aimed at I would surely miss. I ended up giving it away to my neighbor because I just couldn't stand it any longer. This was my first air rifle when I got into the sport. I have grown tremendoulsy as a shooter since then and might have better results if I were to try it again. 
Maybe you'll have better luck? 
Happy Hunting!
Tom

Wal Mart sells air rifles on a county to county basis. For example in the county next to mine where the college campus is they dont sell pellets or pellet rifles, but the other 2 stores outside that county do. I guess the college kids arent responsible ............ go figure