• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

I can’t figure this out.

RickH

Jan 22, 2022
Afternoon everyone,

I can’t figure this out. I just got back from another rifle match at the CMP in Anniston AL. I practiced for this last week. At that time, shooting from a standing position, I was able to put 60 rounds into about an inch, which was good enough for me. I was shooting the same Beeman AR 2078A I’ve been using for a couple of years at 15 meters. I didn’t see any elevation drops or any other problems after 60 shots. I didn’t empty the air chamber until this morning and put two new 12mg co2 cartridges in before I left. Two hours later the match started. Using the same weight Gamo red tip pellets it was shooting horribly. Group size about four inches. After 50 shots I was getting a 3-4 inch drop so I just quit shooting. Last week I was shooting outdoors in 70 degree weather with no wind. Today I was shooting indoors at about 72 but no wind. The rifle never got cooler than 68 degrees at all. I don’t suspect a leak because after 10 days there was still gas in the chamber and now, an hour after returning home, there is still pressure in the chamber. I don’t get it. Could the pressure vary that much in the 12mg cartridges? Going from 60 rounds and no drop to 50 rounds and a 3-4 inch or more drop seems extreme. What am I missing?

Rick H.

Reactions: MLE and Treefrog
Lot of factors to consider here. I know you’re probably turning the gun inside out at this point so I’ll propose an alternative: shooter error.