HW97K which caliber and pellet?

I am new to springers, for the last few years I have Man shooting a FX crown. I’m trying to decide between .22 caliber and .25 caliber for squirrel hunting. The HW 97 seems to be the most accurate out of the box gun. Please help me decide based on these requirements.

1. No shots will be inside 20 yards with the occasional 25 to 30 yard shot.

2. Sometimes I hunt we the temperatures are really cold not sure if this will make any difference in caliber or not but mainly concerned about the performance and extremely cold situations. I know it affects the performance of PCPs but not sure about Springer’s.

3. Would like the most punch and accuracy between the .22 and the .25 caliber. Any experience you could share would be helpful.

4. Please suggest a brand of pellet start with.

I routinely kill Squirrels with my .177 Walther LGV Master Pro. Very flat trajectory using either 10.34 JSB or Polymags. Hits like s hammer. 

Same gun in .22 is also very accurate. But for some reason have had more success with the .177. The .22 LOVES Hades. 

Good luck. 

*Have never owned the 97, but everyone loves theirs. It’s a great platform, and certainly in my bucket list. But don’t overlook other makes or models. 

" . Sometimes I hunt we the temperatures are really cold not sure if this will make any difference in caliber or not but mainly concerned about the performance and extremely cold situations. I know it affects the performance of PCPs but not sure about Springer’s."

I'm not entirely sure how much effect cold weather has on springers. Gas-spring guns are effected by temperature. Velocities fall with this type of airgun in cold weather. With all springer type (gas or coil spring) airguns elevation is the performance killer. I lost 20 fps in a Beeman RX1 shooting at 2300 ft elevation. Established velocities were at 85 ft above sea level. Barometric pressure also effects performance but to a lesser degree.