How well do High end PCP hold value

Hello all . I'm fairly new to this form . Really enjoying the info . I was wondering if buying a little higher price first rifle would save me some money from trading up . That being said I would like to get a good return my investment if I did not like the rifle I purchased . Or is that trying butter my bread on both sides ? Thanks in advance for any and all info on the subject.

It depends on several factors. For maximizing ROI, desirability, availability, and condition are all key attributes. 

Something that I find to be a head scratcher though, is not many buyers see value in barrel "grade". A higher priced PCP does not translate to higher chances of getting A-grade accuracy. Everyone that I know that is hardcore about accuracy for long-range and BR winds up spending time, money, and effort with barrel smithing to turn a "B" grade barrel into an "A+" - but the airgun might as well have an un-rifled tube in it when it comes to resale value; people do not seem to care.

Pesting , hunting plinking and target . I enjoy hunting squirrel I have 1 woods I hunt that is up fairly close to the house . And with urban sprawl thats going to get worse . So i figure the PCP would be a lot less noise then a powder burner . Thinking 25 cal as squirrel season runs from labor day thur the end of January . Meaning longer shots when the leaves come off and the chance at Groundhog , Fox ,Racoon along the way . That asking a lot of one rifle so I need good stuff to start with . But personal likes and dislikes means alot to me . Just wondering if something was really a I can''t stand it after I get it sort of thing . If it was going to be a big hit money wise . Finding something I would like more.