• *Effective 3/27/2024 - The discussion of the creation, fabrication, or modification of airgun moderators is prohibited. The discussion of any "adapters" used to convert an airgun moderator to a firearm silencer will result in immediate termination of the account.*

How do different barrel lengths affect accuracy?

I'm new to airguns and looking to understand more about how different barrel lengths affect accuracy. Can anyone explain the relationship between barrel length and shot consistency?"

I found some info on this forum and google regarding the subject but was unsure of which were true.
  1. Longer barrels always result in better accuracy: While barrel length can influence accuracy, it's not the only factor. Factors like barrel quality, ammunition used, and the shooter's skill also play significant roles.
  2. Shorter barrels are always less accurate: While longer barrels can provide more stability to the projectile, shorter barrels can be just as accurate if they are well-made and properly calibrated.
  3. Barrel length directly correlates with projectile velocity: While longer barrels can potentially increase projectile velocity due to more time for the gas to act on the projectile, other factors like air pressure, barrel quality, and projectile weight also play roles in determining velocity.
  4. Barrel length is the most important factor in accuracy: While barrel length is important, factors like barrel quality, bore consistency, and the quality of the ammunition are equally important in determining accuracy.
  5. Shorter barrels are always louder: While it's true that longer barrels can sometimes help dampen the sound of the shot, factors like the type of airgun and the air pressure used also influence noise levels.