• Please consider adding your "Event" to the Calendar located on our Home page!
  • The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

HFT UK version

I was just curious how many would do the HFT UK version in a match? I'm just getting started in AAFTA so I'm just asking. I doubt many would because a lot of folks can't shoot prone or get on the position very easily. I just like the simplicity of it and how I grew up shooting.

Thanks
Jon
I would if I could. I think UK HFT embraces some of the early ideals of Field Target and really went back to the roots of field target. It's not about equipment (read high magnification scopes). It's celebrates (relatively) low power precision shooting, field ranging and wind reading.

Having said all that, there's no way I can shoot prone. I tried. With my neck and back injury, I can barely raise my head to see 4 inches below the bottom of my butt stock. Wonder if they would let me shoot sitting?

I don't see the US embracing this type of shooting now or in the future . Right now it's about extreme FT. (high power, slug fest, longer distances...why? because we can)...LOL let the flaming begin.

Last edited:
I would if I could. I think UK HFT embraces some of the early ideals of Field Target and really went back to the roots of field target. It's not about equipment (read high magnification scopes). It's celebrates(relatively) low power precision shooting, field ranging and wind reading.

Having said all that, there's no way I can shoot prone. I tried. With my neck and back injury, I can barely raise my head to see 4 inches below the bottom of my butt stock. Wonder if they would let me shoot sitting?

I don't see the US embracing this type of shooting now or in the future . Right now it's about extreme FT. (high power, slug fest, longer distances...why? because we can)...LOL let the flaming begin.