Help with lathe

Im trying to teach myself to make my own guides but seem to have run into some issues. My cuts seem to start out well but as I get closer to the chuck I start to get "ribs" in the material. I'm a complete beginner so any advice is appreciated. Thank you!
20220921_051433.jpg

I don't know what's causing The Ridges but you should get a better cut closer to the Chuck than farther away. Also your material shouldn't stick out that far from the Chuck without support at the far end. Typically you drill a countersink hole in the middle of the stock and use the tail stock to hold it from moving at the far end.

I don't know what's causing The Ridges but you should get a better cut closer to the Chuck than farther away. Also your material shouldn't stick out that far from the Chuck without support at the far end. Typically you drill a countersink hole in the middle of the stock and use the tail stock to hold it from moving at the far end.
The center in the tail is typically in the rear end I just seperated it for a moment. This is how its setup while running

20220921_045459.jpg

More RPM !
Cutting soft material like delrin you need to spin pretty fast! And take small cuts the closer you get to your final dimensions!
With the current gearing I'm maxing out at about 1400rpm. Is that fast enough or should I change gears and go for the max which is closer to 2500rpm? Also, should I change gears so the tooling goes for a slower cut and just do the faster cuts manually?

What's the Frequency kenneth? You will get a certain amount of vibration and movement from different materials, some of the softer ones like Delran will do that they will actually move enough to distort when feeding. I agree with the others, speed it up and hand feed it, see where the Distortion starts and pull your material back into the chuck if need be.