• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Help me decide...

I'm just getting started with air guns, so please bear with me. I'm looking for a filling solution for an Air Arms S510 and trying to decide whether to buy a small (90 cu in.) tank with a fill station or a good Hill-type pump. I've got a $400 budget, so the up front cost of either is doable.I'm just wondering about how often I'll have to get the tank filled vs. the effort to pump a gun up by hand. I'm a late 60-something in reasonable shape. Or are there other alternatives I'm not aware of?

Thanks

We’re in the same age bracket and using a hand pump is too much work while your having fun. I was in the same situation as you, I made the mistake of buying a hand pump it’s extremely hard especially when your down to the last 1000# to go. I sold that pump and got a 70cf tank that I would fill at a paintball store for $10 which gave 30-40 fills on my Hatsan rifle if you live near a pcp rifle store that may even be better as I heard that one was giving free air for a year with gun purchase.. Eventually when I saw this sport was not a passing thing and 5 Guns later I got an electric compressor. They cost anywhere from $350 for basic Chinese imports to over $2000 and up for European models. AirForce just came out with one for $899 that can also work off your car battery when your in the field. The better made Chinese compressors go from $1299 to $2000

good luck and good shooting.