Hello from the Ozark Mountains.

Hello all. Just wanted to say hello and introduce myself.
I have used air guns, mostly springers and pump up for over 45 years. I recently decided to dip my toes into the PCP pool, or maybe just dive right in. I am a teacher at heart and currently an adjunct professor at a major southern university. I now only teach online classes from home. I thought it might be a good idea to let you know what my situation is, and what I am looking to accomplish.
I plan to purchase a quality .25 caliber PCP to get started and learn the proverbial ropes. Shoot some varmints in the process.
I am wondering if buying a dive tank or compressor is the way to go as well.
Plan B is to purchase a large bore PCP later this spring\summer and hunt deer with it this fall.
I live in a rural area with no shops within a 100 miles that I know of, where I can put my hands on a gun before I purchase. Bummer. I do have a couple of dive shops within 30 miles to have tanks filled.
I hate the idea of spending that kind of money on a weapon without the normal tactile satisfaction.
I have 2 ranges with benches here at the house. Each is 100 yards long. One faces East, the other West for am or pm shooting.
As with any first steps into a new endeavor, I understand the up front equipment costs will be substantial. I have budgeted about 3 thousand dollars to get the job started.
I hope that will cover the air guns and some type of air supply.
I hope that answers most of your initial questions, but I am sure there will be more. Ask away.
I am looking forward to reading through some of the past post to gain more knowledge.
Thanks

Hello Doc, I suggest the slow and steady approach. Compressors are really coming down in price, definitely a buyers market. I suggest an Omega compressor. I have had one for five years and no issues but research is your friend. A lot of people like the Yong Hen compressors, think tinkerers.