• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Hand Pumping With Sciatica

When I first got a PCP, I filled by a stirrup pump!
I weigh about 165 st the time..with a bum back....
Anyway pumping up a PCP is ALL IN THE LEGS!!!!!!!
Note: to keep the pump and gun happy, drain the moisture trap Often...
Also let the pump cool down!!!
I used to do 25 strokes.. cool down then another 25.
Then bleed off the moisture trap during this cool down period.
So keep back straight.. use your Legs!!

Last edited:
I'm 54 6'1 and 235 lbs and I don't find hand pumping difficult at all. I use my legs mostly and I've never felt any stress on my back or had soreness afterwards. I've been using a hand pump for at least 20 years and I currently own 12 pcps. I also have a 15 ci 4500 psi tank I fill once in awhile. I've never owned a compressor, but I'm sure I will in a few years though.

Reactions: sscoyote
I'm 54 6'1 and 235 lbs and I don't find hand pumping difficult at all. I use my legs mostly and I've never felt any stress on my back or had soreness afterwards. I've been using a hand pump for at least 20 years and I currently own 12 pcps. I also have a 15 ci 4500 psi tank I fill once in awhile. I've never owned a compressor, but I'm sure I will in a few years though.
I thought I had the hand pumping record but looks like you got me with 20 years and 12 PCPs...I made it 19 years to 68, never had an issue until stroke...now just too much pain to make hand pumping worth while...Today starts a new era for me with an Omaga Trail Charger...couldn't even sleep last night so excited...I hope the thing holds up! I have 7 to feed...and their HUNGEY!!!