Gonna spring for a springer exclusively for rabbits and Pheasants .177 or.22 ?

Hi Folks,

I am new to AG hunting and I have decided to buy either an Air Arms TX200 HC or a HW97 KT. What I have yet to decide is whether to go for .177 or .22. I don't have a FAC, I am limited to the typical 12ft/lbs, I am wondering if .177 is good enough for cleanly killing rabbits? I would of course, only do head shots on both rabbits/Pheasants, so 177 would be fine for the latter, not 100% sure about rabbits. I have seen video of shooters dropping rabbits at 40/50 years with .177, still it would be good to hear from members who shoot regularly at this end of the power scale. I don't want PCP, because I will be going to very remote locations and I don't want anything to drag along. I am happy with single shot under lever or even BB if I decided on a different rifle. I am swaying towards the AA TX200, nothing between it and the HW97, just kinda prefer the TX finish. 

Any pointers if I can get away with smaller .177 but flatter over distance or I need the extra stopping power of .22?

Best to all

PC

With the 12 fpe restriction, I would opt for the .177 caliber. 

.177 caliber pushing JSB 8.44gr. pellet at 800 fps (12 fpe) has a flatter trajectory than .22 cal pushing JSB 14.89gr. pellet at 602 fps. For me, that would mean greater accuracy for the .177.

Also, the .177 at higher velocity (800 fps) has greater ballistic coefficient than the slower .22 cal . (602 fps).

So I would normally say .22 because you will get better range and knock down power. The problem is that one of the guns you mention is NOT under 12fp. The Air Arms TX200 HC is rated 14 for .177, and 17 for the .22.

The HW97 KT is rated right at 12fp so that is kind of the only option of the 2 you mentioned. And actually you may need to check, because it actually gives 12-13fp.

thanks thumper.