• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Getting into PCP and some Marauder questions

tiptop

Nov 12, 2016
OH
I have some experience with springers, SSP, and gas piston guns but I'm thinking about getting my first PCP airgun. I don't want to spend huge bucks right away until I figure out if this is something I want to devote more time to. But I've done enough reading to decide that a big CF tank (Great White) is the way to go because it's the most efficient in time, money, trips to fill and I'm not up for hours of pumping. If I end up with a gun down the road that requires higher pressures, it will be best for that too. And finally, if I decide it's not for me I should be able to sell it without losing too much. That part of PCP to me is kind of a no-brainer but the first PCP gun is harder. I'm considering a .22 M-rod 2nd gen. to keep the cost down, to learn PCP on, there's a big aftermarket for mods, a lot of guys seem to like them, and they are (or can be made to be) pretty accurate for the price. I have a couple questions about the M-rod that I'd like to some opinions on. First, Joe Brancato (airtankssforsale.com) offers a free hammer de-bounce device installed with the purchase of any M-rod from him. He claims 50% more shots per fill as well as quieter performance. Is this legit? Is this device available from other sources? Is it easily installed? I've also done some reading about regulators and it seems like it would be a good idea to have one on the M-rod to give a more consistent pressure which seems like a really good idea for flattening out the range of fps. Do you feel that a regulator is helpful on this gun? Are they adjustable for different pressure levels? Which one? Easily installed? Lots of questions, thanks for any guidance.