• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Air Venturi General PCP & Avenger Guidance Requested

WOB

May 12, 2024
Hello, my name is Bart. I am new to PCP's and I am in need of some guidance. I have purchased an Avenger .25 caliber and I am trying to understand its limitations In regards to slugs and proper setup in general. My compressor will arrive this coming week and I desire to learn all I can, so that I don't make a mistep:

- How can you tell what size slug the barrel can handle?

- Why does one "slug a barrel"?

- Are there aftermarket barrels for PCP's?

- Is there a rule of thumb when selecting slugs or pellets based on size?

- What do you wish you knew when you first started into PCP's?

I know that I will have more questions and I apologize if this seems to elementary, but I not even sure what to search for, it all too new at this point.

Thank you,
Bart

Reactions: EmptyTin_Tim
It depends on what you expect of it I guess, some want long range accuracy while others mid range power. Slugging a barrel is done to get land and grove dimensions, look for tight/loose/rough spots. I personally cast and shoot 50. Gr slugs in a Hatsan flash for hunting/pest and am happy with the outcome. I tuned for just that project. On diameter it depends most you go over grove a hair but some will do better a bit under, let it tell you what it likes.

Welcome to the forum!