Finishing A New Barrel Blank ?

I'd like to try my hand at finishing a new barrel blank. I understand concentricity, crowning and threading.

Could some of you with hands on experience talk about the pellet chamber and lead in? I learn fast so share all you're willing.

Do you leave freebore or try to start the projectile close to the rifling?

What angle you taper the lead?

Are you using an off the shelf micro boring bar or grinding your own?

Pictures and or tooling part numbers are welcome. I'll have to order a boring bar that small for .22 and .30

I want to do everything myself so please don't recommend people to send it to.

Thanks in advance.

James

I'm no barrel expert but have finished quite a few. Still learning myself. I grind my own cutting tool to cut the inside oring groove. A dremel with a cut off wheel and a bench grinder will give you a quality HSS tool for cheap. A tapered pin reamer will make cutting the leade much easier. They run about $20-30 each and give you a nice transition. You could also cut out in the lathe but I think a reamer gives the best finish. I like to profile the barrel, drill the transfer port, cut the leade, cut the oring groove, thread the end and cut the crown in that order. I feel it goes the fastest that way. 

Thammer

if you don’t mind sharing your techniques how do you cut the crown? I’ve seen a lot of methods posted, from brass screws with grinding compound to tool-post grinders on a lathe, with angles from zero to whatever you get when the brass screw wears down.

The only purpose for a crown is to protect the end of the rifling. If anything covers your muzzle like a suppressor or shroud you don't need a crown. Just be sure there are no burrs. EDIT: This is also known as a 90 degree crown

Last edited:
Reactions: bucketboy