• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Finding the best pellet for your new PCP air rifle - How?

I am very new to air rifles and am looking to purchase two new PCP air rifles, one the works above 12 fpe and one that works below that I can use in confined spaces. But I'm wondering what the sequence is for discovering the best pellet for your particular gun. I know that it involves trying lots of different brands of pellets at different ranges and finding the so called sweet spot, but my question is which should you do first?

Intuitively I would think that finding the sweet spot would be the first port of call, but then maybe which pellet you use affects how the sweet spot behaves - but then again maybe not. So as a newbie would love to hear all about the thought processes involved in finding that ideal pellet for your gun.

I'm not sure of your pellet availability, but I would first try JSBs in different weights for your caliber first. If they don't work well I would refer to a forum specific to whatever gun you have and see what pellets other are using. I have 5 small caliber PCPs (22 & 25 cal) and JSBs work well in all of them. There are other pellets that also work well in them but in most cases the JSBs work just as well or better than the next brand.

"npunk42"Doesn't the Air Arms S510 FAC come with adjustable power? I thought the low setting was 12 fpe, and full power was up near 30fpe. Seems to me that you could save some money, not have to deal with two different barrels potentially preferring two different pellets if you got one rifle like that.
I’m looking to get the FAC rated air rifle in .25 calibre. I’m guessing that 12 fpe won’t be enough for a .25, hence a dedicated sub 12 fpe rifle.

Back to your original question: How does one find the best pellet for a new PCP rifle?