• The AGN App is ready! Search "Airgun Nation" in your App store. To compliment this new tech we've assigned the "Threads" Feed & "Dark" Mode. To revert back click HERE.

Experience with the new Crosman MAG-Fire Ultra multi-shot?

So I've been looking for an inexpensive ($200 or less), synthetic stock, break barrel rifle I can use quickly when I'm short on time or in foul weather, and I don't have to break out all the PCP gear, or worry about my more expensive PCP rifle. 

I'm looking at the new Crosman MAG-Fire Ultra multi-shot in .22 that comes with a cheap CP 3-9x40 AO scope (we'll see how long that lasts). It typically retails for $200+, but only $150 with free shipping from Crosman using the Airgun Nation discount. I can't find any in depth reviews, or find any discussion here about it.

It looks like a winner (for the price). Does anyone have any first hand knowledge about this rifle?

I have no experience with the rifle you are asking about but for that price range I'd go Air Guns Of Arizona and buy a German made Walther Parrus that is on sale for $149.99.

I'm a little gun shy of the possible torque/twist in a springer vs gas ram. Does the Walther produce this? I'm not familiar with the rifle. Also, I'm not sure how it sounds, but I can't stand the long 'DOING' sound some springers produce. I would return a rifle based on that alone.

Just make sure you don’t have any loose fillings before you shoot it! LOL. It killed two of my scopes until I finally put a shotgun scope on it 4X.

Are you referring to the Walther? I saw a review that it had a violent kick, but no TWANG.

Our perceptions of recoil are all different. I've never shot a Parrus but I find it a bit hard to believe you would get a "violent kick". That's at least for me anyway as I have a background in shooting large caliber powder burners.

Remember spring piston guns require a break in period and get better over time. You can also have them detuned to a lower power level.