Do moderator/silencer increase velocity?

Actually, a moderator "can" increase velocity, among other things, good and bad. Some people notice accuracy problems when using certain moderators on certain guns. Not to mention "clipping", where the projectile actually clips either a baffle or the muzzle of the moderator. A moderator strips turbulent air from behind the projectile, so it may help to stabilize it. Lots of things to consider.

I am not a rocket scientist just a simple guy that has bought a few moderators over time. And for me it's like BackStop said A moderator strips turbulent air from behind the projectile, so it may help to stabilize it. I would only add a "GOOD DESIGNED" moderator so how does the average person know, other than the snake oil sales person? One way is word of mouth by those who have purchased and another are the testing data or grafts that support any manufacturer claims. For me increased velocity matters little, if any moderator makes the pellet less stable in anyway, there for less accurate down range. Some moderators do indeed add more to the overall pellet stability thus adding to your down range accuracy. 😎

https://www.silentthunderordnance.com/air

The correct term is LDC. Aka lead dust collector. A silencer is what is use on a firearm. As for increase speed. No it doesn't. Longer barrel do increase speed. But adding a LDC doesn't make the barrel long. Just only length the outside. Once the pellet enter the LDC, it is a hollow tube. So pressure is being dispersed around the inside instead of keep pushing from behind the pellet like it would in a enclose barrel.

Adding a LDC do increase accuracy. I have guns that shot poor, and adding a LDC help tighter groups. Could be a lot of reason for this. The added weight can help with harmonic. It could be the LDC help trap the dirty air. Who knows.